We acknowledge that we live and work on unceded Indigenous territories and we thank the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh Nations for their hospitality.



June 3, 2015

BC Studies is pleased to announce contributor, Jordan Stranger-Ross, is a 2015 CHA prize winner of the Canadian Committee on Migration, Ethnicity and Transnationalism Article Prize for, “Telling a Difficult Past” Kishizo Kumra’s Memoire of Entaglement in Racist Policy.  BC Studies, no. 181, Spring 2014

BC Studies contributor, PearlAnn Reichwein has been awarded the Clio Prize (Prairies) from the Canadian Historical Association (CHA). The award recognizes her insightful book. Climber’s Paradise: Making Canada’s Mountain Parks, 1907-1974, as an exceptional contribution to regional history.

Read PearlAnn’s reviews for BC Studies.

Other winning and short-listed books reviewed by BC Studies.
For a full list of all winners, shortlist and honourable mentions.  Visit the 2015 CHA Prize website.

Political History Group Book Prize: Food Will Win the War: The Politics, Culture, and Science of Food on Canada’s Home Front by Ian Mosby

Aboriginal History Book Prize: Elsie Paul in collaboration with Paige Raibmon and Harmony Johnson, Written as I Remember It: Teachings (ʔəms taʔaw) from the Life of a Sliammon Elder. 


Clio Prize (British Columbia): Dominique Clément, Equality Deferred: Sex Discrimination and British Columbia’s Human Rights State, 1953-84.

Clio Prize (The North): Ted Binnema, Enlightened Zeal: The Hudson’s Bay Company and Scientific Networks, 1670-1870. 

Sir John A Macdonald Prize:


Jean Barman, French Canadians, Furs and Indigenous Women in the Making of the Pacific Northwest.


Ian Milligan, Rebel Youth: 1960s Labour Unrest, Young Workers, and New Leftists in English Canada.

The François-Xavier Garneau Medal:


Leslie A. Robertson et al. Standing Up with Ga’axsta’las: Jane Constance Cook and the Politics of Memory, Church and Custom.